International Dot Day – Make a mark and see where it takes You!

Because September 15th fell on a Saturday, I decided to promote International Dot Day with my students I have at my second school on Friday’s (Friday, September 14th to be exact J).  International Dot Day celebrates the book The Dot by Peter Reynolds, and urges all artists to “make a mark and see where it takes [them]”.  The Dot is about a young girl, Vashti, who is struggling with ideas and motivation in art.  Her teacher encourages her to make a mark on her paper and sign it – the next day Vashti sees her artwork (a tiny dot) nicely framed up on the wall, but knows she can do better than that (especially if it’s going to be displayed) and proceeds to make lots of dots big and small, using different colors.  It’s a very cute and encouraging book – especially for the budding artists.

To celebrate, I read and showed the YouTube video of the book, and had each grade level create a square to be included in one large collaborative piece done by the entirety of my Friday art classes.  Each square contained concentric circles inspired by Wassily Kandinsky.  See my previous lessons on Kandinsky Concentric Circles here.  The end result was a gigantic collage reaching almost floor to ceiling of concentric circles – it makes quite the statement!

IMG_0708

 

Special Note: Because I travel Fridays to a different school, I only have one kindergarten class/section my whole week.  Some of the projects we do are the same as those as I do with 1st grade, but others are solely unique to kindergarten creating!

Leave a comment

Filed under 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, 4th Grade, 5th Grade, 6th Grade, Announcements, Kindergarten

Leave a Reply

